V.A. Mr Bongo Record Club Volume 1

Mr Bongo | Item No: 493588
Vinyl 2LP | 2016 / UK – Original | New
21,99 €
Incl. VAT plus Shipping Costs
Add to Cart Coming Soon Sold out Currently not available Not Enough Coins
Currently not available Item is probably back in stock in about 1-3 weeks
Item Description
The first instalment in our new ‘Mr Bongo Record Club’ compilation series – a
selection of favourites, recent discoveries and sought after obscurities, which
form the basis of our DJ sets and our radio show of the same name. Including
cuts by Claudia, Cortex, Dave Pike Set, Fruko, Neno Exporta Som, Connie
Laverne, Barbosa and more.
The original concept for ‘Mr Bongo Record Club’ was a radio show that allowed
us to air our treasured record collections, recorded and broadcast once a
month. We wanted to create an outlet free from any genre or BPM restrictions,
not constrained by the need to beat-mix every record, a space where we could
play latest finds alongside favourites. The only self-imposed rule being that
it had to be played from vinyl.
We have always DJ’d across-the-board, but playing in an eclectic way hasn’t
always been easy. Recently DJ’s such as MCDE, Floating Points, Nick The Record,
Leon Vynehall, Four Tet, Jeremy Underground, Antal (Rush Hour), Sassy J and
Young Marco – to name a few – have opened things up with very diverse sets to
younger audiences; Brazilian samba-rock, next to modern soul, highlife, disco,
boogie, jazz, house, techno and beyond.
We’re seeing a rare groove like sensibility. A shift towards the attitude of
legendary club nights hosted by the likes of Mr Scruff and Gilles Peterson,
where you could hear house, hip hop, Turkish funk, boogie, jazz, dub and Latin
back to back. At the same time it isn't a nostalgic or retro movement, people
have a progressive attitude and a thirst for new-old music. It is a vibrant and
exciting time – we are proud to be a part of it.
Item Details
Item No: 493588
Artist: V.A.
Title: Mr Bongo Record Club Volume 1
Label: Mr Bongo
Catalog No: MRBLP141
Format: Vinyl 2LP, Vinyl, LP
Pressing: UK – Original
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Organic Grooves
Style: Jazz | Fusion, Disco | Boogie, Latin | Brazil, Afrobeat
Available since: 2016-11-08
Condition: New
Price: 21,99 €
Weight: 500g (plus 250g Packaging)
A1 Neno Exporta Som - Deixa A Tristeza
A2 Alipio Martins - Piranha
A3 Lemos E Debetio - Morro Do Barraco Sem Agua
A4 Barbosa - Seara De Oxala
A5 Dave Pinke Set - Mathar
B1 Lantei - Fish & Funjee (Komi Ke Kenam)
B2 Buari - Karam Bani
B3 The Rwenzori's - Handsome Boy (E Wara) (Part 1 & 2)
C1 Mavis Jhn - Use My Bady
C2 Big Youth - Mammy Hot Daddy Cool
C3 Tappa Zukie - Freak
D1 Connie Laverne - Can't Live Without You
D2 Alex Rodriguez - El Mercado
D3 Cortex - Chanson D'un Jour D'hiver
D4 King James Version - He's Forever (Amen)
Our customers also bought
Related Items
Our customers also bought
Related Items