FINAL WINTER SALE20% on Top auf alle Urban Fashion Sale Artikel. Gültig bis 17.01, 23:59 Uhr. Code: finalwinter20
GenresNew In StockBack In StockPreorderHHV ExclusivesHHV Top 100ChartsSale
Rites Of Spring - Six Song Demo
A1End On End
A3Pesistant Vision
B1Hains Point
B2All There Is
B3By Design Take Two

Rites Of Spring
Six Song Demo

Dischord | Artikel-Nr: 294600
Vinyl 10" | 2012 / US – Original | Neuware
12,74 €  16,99 €  -25%
Inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Ausverkauft Dieser Artikel ist leider ausverkauft.
10" LP WITH DOWNLOAD. Rites of Spring were among the most important and beloved bands to emerge from the DC underground music scene in the mid-80s.

Formed by Guy Picciotto (Fugazi) on vocals/guitar, Mike Fellows bass, Brendan Canty (Fugazi) on drums, and Eddie Janney (Faith) on guitar in 1984, the quartet released a self-titled LP and a 7" single before disbanding in 1986.

They were central to what came to be known as 'Revolution Summer', a period of redefinition and creative burst from the DC scene in 1985.

Before that - before they even played a show -- the band recorded a six-song demo tape at Inner Ear with Don Zientara and Ian MacKaye.

After the dissolution of their previous band, Insurrection, in 1983, Canty, Picciotto, and Fellows joined with Faith guitarist Eddie Janney and began writing new songs.

Unfortunately, just as they became ready to play out, Fellows announced plans to relocate to Los Angeles, effectively ending the band before it even got started.

Before the bassist departed, the group decided to go to Inner Ear to document the handful of finished songs that they had written.

At this point, not only had they never played a show, Rites of Spring hadn't even settled on a name (on the tapes, Zientara listed the sessions as Insurrection II).

But already, the music marked a musical shift for the DC punk community, consciously breaking away from the macho-clichés that had come to plague hardcore music.

The sessions were notable for being the first time that anybody had heard Picciotto sing.

At the time, few bands had access to a PA system during practice and the volume of the other instruments often blotted out vocals.

Shortly after tracking was completed, Fellows hit the road and the recordings were mixed in his absence, hence the Beatles-inspired "Mike Fellows is dead," gag at the end of "By Design." Because the band had broken up before ever playing, there was no plan to officially release the recording, so the completed songs were dubbed onto cassette tapes and given out to friends, who passed them along to others.

As a result of the tape-trading the recordings were heard far and wide, though each copy suffered a loss of sound-quality.

As it turned out, the West Coast didn't agree with Fellows and in July he came back to DC to rejoin the band.

Shortly after his return the band performed its first show at Food For Thought opening for Gray Matter.

They would perform fewer than 20 shows before they dis- banded. These six songs capture Rites of Spring in its earliest stages.

Once the band started playing out, the songs gained velocity and intensity (see the 7-minute plus version of "End on End" that closes their LP), but many of the elements that defined their music - frenzied energy, sharp melodies, and introspective lyrics -- were already very much in place.

The release has been mastered from the original tapes and is presented exactly as it was on those cassettes in 1984 complete with the tape collages and assorted audio-graffiti.

Members went on to play in Happy Go Licky, Fugazi, Royal Trux, and Silver Jews. *Recorded April 1984 at Inner Ear Studios by Don Zientara; Produced by Ian MacKaye.

Mastered by TJ Lipple in Summer 2012.
Artist:Rites Of Spring
Titel:Six Song Demo
Katalog-Nr:DISV 176
Format:Vinyl 10", Vinyl, LP
Pressung:US – Original
Release Date:2012
Genre:Rock / Indie
Style:Punk / Hardcore
Erhältlich seit:25.10.2012
Preis: 16,99 € 12,74 €
Gewicht:0g (plus 250g Verpackung)
Unsere Kunden kauften auch
Ähnliche Artikel
Audio88 - Der Letzte Idiot Black Vinyl Edition
Der Letzte Idiot Black Vinyl Edition
LP|8,99 € 14,99 € -40%
Audio88 - Der Letzte Idiot Black Vinyl Edition LP
Sigur Ros - Agaetis Byrjun
Sigur Ros
Agaetis Byrjun
2LP+CD|24,99 €
Sigur Ros - Agaetis Byrjun 2LP+CD
Vinyl, CD & Tape vom Label
Used Vinyl vom Label
Fugazi - Fugazi
LP|15,99 €
Fugazi - Fugazi LP
Fugazi - Instrument Soundtrack
Instrument Soundtrack
LP|17,99 €
Derzeit nicht lieferbar
Fugazi - Instrument Soundtrack LP
Fugazi - First Demo
First Demo
LP|17,99 €
Fugazi - First Demo LP
Jawbox - Novelty
LP|15,99 €
Jawbox - Novelty LP
Make-Up, The - Destination: Love - Live At Cold Rice
Make-Up, The
Destination: Love - Live At Cold Rice
LP|16,99 €
Make-Up, The - Destination: Love - Live At Cold Rice LP
Minor Threat - First Demo Tape
Minor Threat
First Demo Tape
7"|7,99 €
Minor Threat - First Demo Tape 7"
Fugazi - The Argument
The Argument
LP|17,99 €
Derzeit nicht lieferbar
Fugazi - The Argument LP
Fugazi - Repeater
LP|15,99 €
Derzeit nicht lieferbar
Fugazi - Repeater LP
Minor Threat - Minor Threat
Minor Threat
Minor Threat
LP|16,99 €
Minor Threat - Minor Threat LP
Messthetics, The - Messthetics
Messthetics, The
LP|16,19 € 17,99 € -10%
Messthetics, The - Messthetics LP
Shudder To Think - Ten Spot
Shudder To Think
Ten Spot
LP|17,99 €
Shudder To Think - Ten Spot LP
Slant 6 - Soda Pop Rip-Off
Slant 6
Soda Pop Rip-Off
LP|16,99 €
Slant 6 - Soda Pop Rip-Off LP
Evens, The - The Odds
Evens, The
The Odds
LP|17,99 €
Evens, The - The Odds LP
Lungfish - Talking Songs For Walking
Talking Songs For Walking
LP|15,99 €
Lungfish - Talking Songs For Walking LP
Faraquet - Anthology 1997-98
Anthology 1997-98
LP|14,99 €
Faraquet - Anthology 1997-98 LP
Alle Artikel anzeigenAlle anzeigen
Player schließen