Cola Boyy Prosthetic Boombox Transparent Red Vinyl Edition

Record Makers | Item No: 825803
Vinyl LP | 2021 / EU – Original | New
11,54 € 20,99 € -45%
Incl. VAT plus Shipping Costs
Add to Cart Coming Soon Sold out Currently not available Not Enough Coins
In Stock Standard shipping 1-2 business days
Item Description
Shiny cover with goffering, printed insert. Cola Boyy gets members of Mgmt, The Avalanches, Chairlift’s Patrick Wimberly, AIR's Nicolas Godin, Myd, Infinite Bisous, and John Carroll Kirby on debut album. There’s liberation on the dance floor in the songs of Matthew Urango – glimpses of revolution that glimmer beneath the disco ball. “I want my music to bring people together,” says the Californian pop innovator, best known as Cola Boyy. “Because standing together is our best chance at fighting this shit show.” The shit show in question is a broken, brutal system the acclaimed multi-instrumentalist has witnessed up-close. Urango was born with spina bifida and scoliosis in Oxnard, California: a town in which almost 30,000 are estimated to live in poverty. Prosthetic Boombox, his eagerly awaited debut album, might at first glance seem a joyous confetti-burst of pop eclecticism, engineered to sound like “scanning between stations on a car radio, landing on all these different sounds and styles” as Urango puts it. Dig deeper, though, and you’ll discover a simmering sense of rebellion. “The working class are injured, struggling to pay rent and struggling to put food on the table,” he says. “I want to represent that.” Prosthetic Boombox achieves that goal in a thrilling flurry of inventive indie, funk and soul: take Urango’s car radio analogy, place it in a time-travelling Delorean with Prince in the passenger seat, and you’re half-way there.
Item Details
Item No: 825803
Artist: Cola Boyy
Title: Prosthetic Boombox Transparent Red Vinyl Edition
Label: Record Makers
Catalog No: REC175
Format: Vinyl LP, Vinyl, LP
Pressing: EU – Original
Release Date: 2021
Genre: Electronic & Dance, Pop
Style: Electro, 2020s
Available since: 2021-06-24
Condition: New
Price: 20,99 € 11,54 €
Weight: 250g (plus 250g Packaging)
A1 Don't Forget Your Neighborhood (W/ The Avalanches)
A2 Mailbox (W/ John Carroll Kirby)
A3 Song For The Mister (W/ Nicolas Godin)
A4 Roses (W/ Myd)
A5 For The Last Time
B1 You Can Do It (W/ Nit)
B2 Mink
B3 One Of These Winters Will Take Me (W/ Bon Voyage Organisation)
B4 Go The Mile (W/ Infinite Bisous)
B5 Kid Born In Space (W/ Andrew Vanwyngarden Of Mgmt)
Our customers also bought
Related Items
Our customers also bought
Related Items