Justin Thurgur - Many Faces
A1Be A Little Wiser
A2The Reeducation Of Mr Otheralisation
A3How It Is
B2The Reality Of Reality
B3Iwa Re Re

Many Faces

Funkiwala | Item No: 917635
Vinyl LP | 2022 / UK – Original | New
18,99 €
Incl. VAT plus Shipping Costs
In Stock Standard shipping 1-2 business days
Item Description
Justin Thurgur has been at the heart of the UK's World Music scene for over twenty years; principally in his collaborations with the former Fela and Femi Kuti keyboardist, Dele Sosimi, and with the pianist and composer Kishon Khan, most recently in his groups Lokkhi Terra and Cubafrobeat. He has also worked with the likes of Afrobeat drum legend Tony Allen, and with the Cuban giants Giraldo Piloto, Julito Padron and Changuito. Thurgur is also a member of the seminal English folk group Bellowhead.
'Many Faces' brings together this musical journey, with Afro-infused grooves and nods towards Cuban Jazz and Dub, with Thurgur's early passion for the likes of Miles Davis, Coltrane, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, et al....
It features both Khan and Sosimi, who have contributed as co-writers as well as bringing their own inimitable sounds on piano, rhodes and hammond organ. Alongside them are some of the leading musicians on the UK's African, Cuban and Jazz scenes, plus collaborations with rising star singers Jade Pybus and Sahra Gure.

Justin Thurgur - trombone (and some additional keys)
Graeme Flowers - trumpet and flugel horn
Simeon May - tenor, baritone and alto sax
James Allsopp - bass clarinet
Jade Pybus - vocals (on 'Woman')
Sahra Gure - vocals (on 'Be A Little Wiser')
Kishon Khan - piano, rhodes and hammond organ (on tracks 1,3,4 and 5)
Dele Sosimi - piano (on tracks 2 and 6) and vocala (on track 6)
Phil Dawson - guitar
Suman Joshi - double bass (except track 5)
Jimmy Martinez - double bass (on track 5)
Tansay Omar - drums (on tracks 1,3 and 4)
Kunle Olofinjana - drums (on tracks 2 and 6)
Yoann Julliard - drums (on track 5)
Afla Sackey - congas and djembe (on tracks 1,2 and 6), shekere and cowbell, and vocals (on track 6)
Oreste 'Sambroso' Noda - congas (on tracks 3 and 5)
Evie Hilyer-Ziegler - violin and viola
Paul Sartin - violin

Track 1 written by J Thurgur and S Gure
Tracks 2 and 6 written by J Thurgur and Dele Sosimi
Track 3 written by J Thurgur
Track 4 written by J Thurgur and J Pybus
Track 5 written by J Thurgur and K Khan

Recorded at Fish Factory by Simone Gallizio and Sean Douglas, at Boneman Studios by Justin Thurgur, at Better Pass Your Own Studios by Phil Dawson, at Thank You Please Studio by Kishon Khan and at 224 Studios by Matteo Musetti.

Mixed at Hi Street Studio by Mauro Caccialanza.

Mastered at Gearbox by Caspar Sutton-Jones.

Artwork by Matthieu Dufour

Photos of by Siobhan Bradshaw, Justin Thurgur, Stephanie Sian Smith,
Chantal Azari, Alex Bonney, Heather Hoyle, Nicole Thurgur, Joanna Mendel, Tansay Omar, Richard Gearey, Faye Hilyer-Ziegler and Svetlana Onye.
Item Details
Item No:917635
Artist:Justin Thurgur
Titel:Many Faces
Format:Vinyl LP, Vinyl, LP
Pressing:UK – Original
Release Date:2022
Genre:Organic Grooves
Style:Jazz | Fusion
Available since:07.06.2022
Price:18,99 €
Weight:250g (plus 250g Packaging)
Close Player