V.A. Coxone's Music - The First Recordings Of Sir Coxsone - The Downbeat 1960-63

Soul Jazz | Item No: 449598
3CD | 2015 / UK – Original | New
17,99 €
Incl. VAT plus Shipping Costs
Add to Cart Coming Soon Sold out Currently not available Not Enough Coins
Currently not available Item is probably back in stock in about 1-3 weeks
Item Description
Coxsone’s Music is a stunning new 3-CD/two separate double LP (+ free download) collection featuring over two and half hours of early Jamaican proto-ska, rhythm and blues, jazz, rastafari and gospel music – charting the earliest recordings produced by Clement Dodd, in the years before he launched the mighty Studio One Records, brought together here for the first time ever.
Clement Dodd’s Sir Coxsone The Downbeat Soundsystem ruled Kingston’s dancehalls during this era and these recordings strongly reflect the influences of American rhythm and blues and jump jazz on Jamaican music fans.
By the time the new record company formed in Brentford Road, Kingston in 1963, the young Clement ‘Sir Coxsone’ Dodd had already managed to release an incredible wealth of recordings by the talented musicians and artists on the island of Jamaica and this collection reflects just that:
Featuring Don Drummond, Roland Alphonso, Derrick Harriott, Owen Gray, Clancy Eccles, Count Ossie, Monty Alexander, The Blues Busters, Ernest Ranglin, Rico Rodriguez and many, many more all captured here in their formative early years.
Before Studio One, Clement Dodd released this music on a variety of his early record labels such as Worldisc, All Stars, Coxsone, D Darling (named after Coxsone’s mother, who received a production credit on the label), Muzik City (named after Dodd’s record store on East Queen’s Street), Port O Jam, Supreme and Sensational.
Sleevenotes to this collection are by Studio One authority Rob Chapman, author of the Never Grow Old and Downbeat Special books cataloguing the many recordings of the label.
Item Details
Item No: 449598
Artist: V.A.
Title: Coxone's Music - The First Recordings Of Sir Coxsone - The Downbeat 1960-63
Label: Soul Jazz
Catalog No: SJRCD323
Format: 3CD, CD
Pressing: UK – Original
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Organic Grooves, Reggae & Dancehall
Style: Funk | Soul, Jazz | Fusion, Ska
Available since: 2015-10-26
Condition: New
Price: 17,99 €
Weight: 300g (plus 250g Packaging)
01 Don Drummond - Roll On Sweet Don
02 Derrick Harriott - Answer Me
03 Aubrey Adams & His Dudroppers - Do Du Wap
04 Busty & Cool - What A World
05 Roland Alphonso - Counter Punch
06 Owen And Millie - Do You Know
07 Workshop Musicians - Calypso Jazz
08 Don Drummond - Elevation Rock
09 The Blues Busters - There's Always Sunshine
10 Clue J & His Blues Blasters - Duke Down Gal Aka Unknown Shuffle Blues
11 The Jiving Juniors - Darling Don't Leave Me
12 The Mellow Larks - Time To Pray (Allelujah)
13 Owen Gray - Twisting My Baby
01 Cecil Lloyd Quintet - What Is The Thing Called Love
02 Theo Beckford - That's Me
03 Simms & Robinson - White Christmas
04 Cecil Lloyd Quintet - Sometimes I Am Happy
05 Owen Gray - Best Twist
06 The Blues Busters - Tell Me Why
07 Don Drummond - Dew Drops
08 Clancy Eccles - River Jordan
09 Workshop Musicians - Serenade In Sound
10 Owen Gray - Young Lover
11 The City Slickers - Oceans 11
12 The Blues Busters - You Had It All Wrong
13 Clue J & His Blues Blasters - Salt Lane Shuffle
14 Lascelles Perkins - Real Gone Clown
15 Don Drummond - Reload
16 Clancy Eccles - Freedom
17 Clue J & His Blues Blasters - Pine Juice
01 The Jiving Juniors - Over The River
02 Don Drummond - Schooling The Duke
03 The Mellow Cats, Count Ossie & The Warrickas - Rock A Man Soul
04 Monty & The Cyclones - Summertime
05 The Mellowlarks - No More Wedding
06 Roland Alphonso & Carol Mclaughlin - Just Cool
07 Owen And Millie - Sugar Plum
08 Clue J & His Blues Blasters - Silky
09 Basil Gabbidon - Independent Blues
10 Don Drummond And The City Slickers - That Man Is Back
11 Simms & Robinson - Searching
12 The Shinners - Romantic Shuffle
13 Cecil Lloyd Quintet - Grooving With The Beat
14 Neville Esson - I Do
15 Workshop Musicians - Burnie's Tune
16 Owen And Millie - Sit And Cry
Our customers also bought
Related Items
Our customers also bought
Related Items