Phuong Tam Magical Nights - Saigon Surf Twist & Soul 1964-1966

Sublime Frequencies | Item No: 924416
Vinyl 2LP | 2022 / EU – Original | New
38,99 €
Incl. VAT plus Shipping Costs
Add to Cart Coming Soon Sold out Currently not available Not Enough Coins
Sold out This item is sold out.
Item Description
Sublime Frequencies is honored to present the first ever retrospective of Phương Tâm, the groundbreaking Saigon teenager who became one of the first singers to perform and record rock and roll in 1960s Vietnam. By chance in early 2020, Hannah Hà (usa) learned that her mother, Phương Tâm, had once been a famous young singer, performer and recording artist at the heart of Saigon’s music scene in the early 1960s. The family had heard some mention of their mom as a singer at the time, but the extent of her legacy and the many songs she had recorded came as a big surprise. Further investigations soon led Hannah to producer Mark Gergis, compiler of Saigon Rock and Soul (2010, Sublime Frequencies), enlisting him to join her on a journey of discovery and recovery. The result is this essential document of Phuong Tam’s brief but prolific career, and at the same time, reuniting the long-lost music with its singer. The unique strengths and qualities of Phương Tâm’s voice, coupled with her commanding stage presence, had swiftly elevated her to top billings on Saigon’s nightclub stages. Parallel to the brutality and uncertainty of an already protracted war, South Vietnam’s music and recording industry were developing at a rapid pace in the early 1960s. Globally, musical trends with wild, ephemeral dance crazes were being thought up weekly; the twist, hully gully, the mashed potato – none of them a problem for Phương Tâm. She soon caught the attention of Saigon’s leading recording companies and composers (Y Vân, Khánh Băng, Trường Hải, Thanh Sơn, Y Vũ and Mặc Thế Nhân, among others). Her energy translated unsurprisingly well in the studio, backed by electric guitars, contrabass, drums, lush brass sections, saxophone, piano, organ and rich backing vocals. Between 1964-1966, Phương Tâm would record almost 30 known tracks, released by the three main record companies in Saigon. The teenage starlet became a vital centerpiece of pop music of the time, and one of the very first singers to perform and record rock and roll (known locally as nhạc kích động, or, action music) – though as you’ll hear, she could also transform a jazz ballad into something otherworldly. While these musical styles were undeniably influenced by contemporary trends worldwide, the musicians and composers worked to localize the sounds, incorporating linguistic adaptations, lyrical content and past artistic traditions into something all their own. In 1966, as Saigon’s music scene continued to evolve and escalate, Phương Tâm walked away from her singing career without looking back – marrying the man she loved and beginning the next rich chapter of her life. But her recorded output had laid the stylistic groundwork for the following generations of singers, and many of the songs she first sang would later be further popularized by others. Her impactful, but short- spanning career has seen her legacy remain historically understated until now. Due to the lack of master tapes or documentation from pre-1975 Vietnam, and the scarcity of records and tapes that had survived the war, it was difficult to grasp the extent of Phương Tâm’s discography. A collective effort was required in sourcing materials and information to compile this record, involving key collectors and producers internationally (Jan Hagenkötter - Saigon Supersound, Cường Phạm, Adam Fargason, Khoa Hà – granddaughter of composer Y Vân, and researcher Jason Gibbs). As the veils of history were slowly lifted, the genuine thrill was witnessing Phương Tâm herself, hearing these songs for the first time in over 50 years – sometimes since the day she recorded them. At the heart of this project is a family story – Hannah Hà’s dedication to recovering and sharing her mother’s musical legacy is helping put Phương Tâm back on center stage after 55 years. But it is also a story that adds critical context to the fragmented understanding of Vietnamese popular culture during the 20th century, particularly after so much has been lost to war and dislocation.
Item Details
Item No: 924416
Artist: Phuong Tam
Title: Magical Nights - Saigon Surf Twist & Soul 1964-1966
Label: Sublime Frequencies
Catalog No: SF120LP
Format: Vinyl 2LP, Vinyl, LP
Pressing: EU – Original
Release Date: 2022
Genre: Rock & Indie
Style: Rock 'n' Roll
Available since: 2022-06-22
Condition: New
Price: 38,99 €
Weight: 500g (plus 250g Packaging)
A1 Co Nho Dem Nao (Remember The Night)
A2 Buon 18 (Sorrow At 18)
A3 20-40 (20-40)
A4 Anh Dau Em Do (Wherever You Are, I Will Be There)
A5 Neu Co Xa Nhau (If We're Far Apart)
A6 Phut Say Mo (In My Dream)
A7 Dem Huyen Dieu (Magical Night)
A8 Nhip Dan Vui (A Merry Tune)
A9 Ai? (Who?)
A10 Van Yeu Hoai (Still Loving You Always)
A11 Ngay Phep Cua Linh (A Soldier's Day Of Leave)
A12 La Thu (The Letter)
A13 Doi Tam (Double Eight)
A14 Than Tuong (Idol)
A15 Nho Minh Anh Thoi (Missing Only You)
A16 60 Nam (60 Years)
A17 Tinh Linh (A Soldier's Love)
A18 Buon Len Thanh Pho (The Sadness Of The City)
A19 Long Trai 20 (Heart Of A 20-Year-Old)
A20 Neu Co Em (If I Have You)
A21 Tinh Mo (Dreamy Love)
A22 Buoc Giang Ho (My Wonderful Journey)
A23 Nhung Ngay Qua (Bygone Twisted Days)
A24 Con Nho Gi Khong (Do You Remember?)
A25 The Hay Con Xa Lam (Still So Far Away)
Our customers also bought
Related Items
Our customers also bought
Related Items