V.A. Blorp Esette Volume One

Etats-Unis | Item No: 906056
Vinyl LP | 1977 / US – Reissue | New
35,99 €
Incl. VAT plus Shipping Costs
Add to Cart Coming Soon Sold out Currently not available Not Enough Coins
In Stock Standard shipping 1-2 business days
Item Description
Los Angeles Free Music Society (lafms) formed in the mid-1970s as a loose-knit experimental music collective and multimedia publishing vehicle. Founded by teenage Le Forte Four members Chip Chapman, Joe Potts and Rick Potts and soon joined by Tom Recchion of Doo-Dooettes, Lafms incorporated free improvisation, modular synthesizers, tape music, sampling, musique concrète, homemade instruments, noise, mail art and avant-rock in permissive and anarchic sessions at the Raymond Building and Poo-Bah Record Shop in old Pasadena. Inspired by The Residents, Lafms self-released records and periodicals, organized performances and connected with fellow outsiders via post in the years before punk. Their uninhibited, egalitarian ideal of music-making and DIY distribution would influence generations of underground musicians. In 1977, Lafms released Blorp Esette, one of several compilations tracking the collective's growth and wild-eyed experimentation. Ace Farren Ford, an early Lafms recruit from the Poo-Bah circle, produced the album and solicited cover artwork by Don Van Vliet (Captain Beefheart). Ford appears in various configurations alongside members of Smegma, Le Forte Four and "unknown artist" (as the credit for more than one piece reads). The Residents, showing their affinity with Lafms, contributed "Whoopy Snorp" for their first non-Ralph Records release. Blorp Esette shows the artists grasping for new, non-idiomatic voicings and collaborative modes, anticipating Lafms affiliates and offshoots such as Airway, Human Hands and Monitor. A second volume would come out in 1980, featuring Ford's punk band The Child Molesters. If you're looking for the missing link between mid-'70s art practice and outsider music, then look no further. This first-time vinyl reissue is limited to 500 numbered copies. Comes with inserts.
Item Details
Item No: 906056
Artist: V.A.
Title: Blorp Esette Volume One
Label: Etats-Unis
Catalog No: ETAT18
Format: Vinyl LP, Vinyl, LP
Pressing: US – Reissue
Release Date: 1977
Genre: Organic Grooves
Style: Jazz | Fusion
Available since: 2023-01-18
Condition: New
Price: 35,99 €
Weight: 250g (plus 250g Packaging)
A1 Intro
A2 Dr Odd - Neil Schneck
A3 Electric Willy - Her Father's Love
A4 Daniel Stewart - Somebody Pooped In Their Pants
A5 Cheezit Ritz - The Lubricated Braggarts Countdown
A6 Reet & Craig - (La (Webster7) 0)
A7 Smegma - Excerpt From I Smell Smoke (Second To Last Part)
A8 Mr Foon - Oktaaves
A9 The Residents - Whoopy Snort
A10 The Patients - Half Magic
A11 Outro/Wolf Loop
B1 The Professor - Two Or Three Unclaimed Negro Corpses
B2 Dk & Reet Meate - Still Life
B3 Le Forte Four - Japanese Super Heroes
B4 Gods Of The Pits - The Return The Pyramidal Oinksnovs
B5 Smegma - Ya Gotta Geek The Geeker
B6 Helen Elana Armand - Hea/Aos
B7 Ju Suk Reet Meate - Reet Solo Real Bass
B8 Mr Foon's Bandaloon - Microphobia
B9 Frank Bedal - Just Don't Forget, Frank Is The Boss
Our customers also bought
Related Items
Our customers also bought
Related Items