V.A. The Complete Obscure Records Collection 75/78

Dialogo | Item No: 1072067
Vinyl Box Set | 2023 / EU – Original | New
369,99 €
Incl. VAT plus Shipping Costs
Add to Cart Coming Soon Sold out Currently not available Not Enough Coins
In Stock Standard shipping 1-3 business days
Item Description
The first-ever LP box set gathering the entire 10 albums collection of Obscure Records produced by Brian Eno’s. Curated by Gavin Bryars Originally issued between 1975 and 1978, nearly 50 years on the output of Obscure remains radically forward-thinking - offering glimpses of a future yet to be fully seen - and amounts to one of the most important, influential, and creatively accomplished album series ever conceived. Co-curated by Eno and the composers Gavin Bryars and Michael Nyman - issuing the recording debuts of Bryars, Nyman, John Adams, Christopher Hobbs, David Toop, Max Eastley, Jan Steele, Simon Jeffes / The Penguin Café Orchestra, and Harold Budd, in addition to important works by John Cage, Tom Phillips, and John White - Obscure’s collective output is a groundbreaking landmark in the histories of Minimalism, modern composition, and Experimental music, and laid much of the groundwork for the soon to emerge movement of Ambient music. Illuminating the remarkable, and largely otherwise undocumented, creative ferment within and between the British and American scenes of experimental music during the mid to late 1970s, this collection - made in full collaboration with all of the composers or their estates - contains the entire 10 album output of Obscure, the majority of which have been out of print for years, with a number having never received a CD reissue. Offering each of Obscure’s albums, completely remastered and housed in faithful replicas of their original covers and liner notes, as well as a 80-page book (LP dimension) for Lp-box SET, filled with rare photos, archival material and texts by - among others - Gavin Bryars, Bradford Bailey, David Toop, Max Eastley, Richard Bernas, and Tom Recchion, this historic collection marks the first time this seminal series has received a complete LP repress.
Item Details
Item No: 1072067
Artist: V.A.
Title: The Complete Obscure Records Collection 75/78
Label: Dialogo
Catalog No: DIALP926BOX
Format: Vinyl Box Set, Vinyl, LP
Pressing: EU – Original
Release Date: 2023
Genre: Electronic & Dance
Style: Downbeat | Electronica | Leftfield
Available since: 2023-12-06
Condition: New
Price: 369,99 €
Weight: 2500g (plus 250g Packaging)
A1 Gavin Bryars - The Sinking Of The Titanic
A2 Gavin Bryars - Jesus Blood Never Failed Me Yet
A3 Christopher Hobbs - Aran
A4 John Adams - American Standard - (I) 'john Philip Sousa'
A5 John Adams - American Standard - (Ii) 'christian Zeal & Activity'
A6 John Adams - American Standard - (Iii) 'sentimentals'
A7 Christopher Hobbs - Mccrimmon Will Never Return
A8 Gavin Bryars - 1-2, 1-2-3-4
A9 Brian Eno - Discreet Music
A10 Brian Eno - Fullness Of The Wind
A11 Brian Eno - French Catalogues
A12 Brian Eno - Brutal Ardour
A13 Max Eastley - Hydrophone
A14 Max Eastley - Metallophone
A15 Max Eastley - The Centriphone
A16 Max Eastley - Elastic Aerophone - Centriphone
A17 David Toop - Do The Bathosphere
A18 David Toop - The Divination Of The Bowhead Whale
A19 David Toop - The Chairs Story
A20 Jan Steele - All Day
A21 Jan Steele - Distant Saxophones
A22 Jan Steele - Rhapsody Spaniel
A23 John Cage - Experiences No.1
A24 John Cage - Experiences No.2
A25 John Cage - The Wonderful Widow Of Eighteen Springs
A26 John Cage - Forever & Sunsmell
A27 John Cage - In A Landscape
A28 Michael Nyman - 1-100
A29 Michael Nyman - Bell Set No 1
A30 Penguin Cafe Orchestra - Penguin Cafe Single
A31 Penguin Cafe Orchestra - From The Colonies
A32 Penguin Cafe Orchestra - In A Sydney Motel
A33 Penguin Cafe Orchestra - Surface Tension
A34 Penguin Cafe Orchestra - Milk
A35 Penguin Cafe Orchestra - Coronation
A36 Penguin Cafe Orchestra - Giles Farnaby's Dream
A37 Penguin Cafe Orchestra - Pigtail
A38 Penguin Cafe Orchestra - The Sound Of Someone You Love Who's Going Away & It Doesn't Matter
A39 Penguin Cafe Orchestra - Hugebaby
A40 Penguin Cafe Orchestra - Chartered Flight
A41 John White - Autumn Countdown Machine
A42 John White - Son Of Gothic Chord
A43 John White - Jew's Harp Machine
A44 John White - Drinking & Hooting Machine
A45 Gavin Bryars - The Squirrel & The Ricketty Racketty Bridge
A46 Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars & Fred Orton - Introduction
A47 Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars & Fred Orton - Overture
A48 Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars & Fred Orton - Aria - I Tell You That's Irma Herself
A49 Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars & Fred Orton - First Interlude
A50 Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars & Fred Orton - Aria - Irma You Will Be Mine
A51 Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars & Fred Orton - Second Interlude
A52 Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars & Fred Orton - Chorus - Love Is Help Mate
A53 Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars & Fred Orton - Postlude
A54 Harold Budd - Bismillahi 'rrahmani 'rrahim
A55 Harold Budd - Two Songs
A56 Harold Budd - Madrigals Of The Rose Angel
A57 Harold Budd - Juno
Our customers also bought
Related Items
Our customers also bought
Related Items